Before you start entering your data in NJ WebFile, please take a few minutes to review all the
information in your 2017 New Jersey resident income tax return booklet. If you did not receive a tax return booklet,
you can download the instruction booklet. There have been some important changes
this tax year -- look for "New in 2017 " throughout the instruction booklet.
First Time Filers are required to use Direct Deposit if due a refund.
If you need assistance, please visit our web site at www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation for help anytime. You can find
answers to your income tax questions, obtain forms and publications and access other helpful information.
- Call New
Jersey's Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (Touch-tone
phones within NJ, NY, PA, DE and MD) or 609-826-4400 (Touch-tone
- Visit our
- Write to:
NJ Division of Taxation, Taxpayer Forms Services, PO Box
269, Trenton NJ 08695-0269.
Call our Automated Tax
(Touch-tone phones within NJ, NY, PA, DE and MD)
or 609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones anywhere).
to recorded tax information on many topics.
forms and publications through our message system.
- Get information
on current year income tax refunds from ARIS, our Automated
Refund Inquiry System, 7 days a week (hours may vary).
Contact our Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400
- Have your tax questions answered by a Division Representative.
Get information about the NJ EITC (Earned Income Tax Credit)
- Report a tax cheat with our anonymous CATCH Program
- Open 8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. Mondays only. When a State holiday falls on a Monday, we will extend our hours of operation on the following Tuesday.
- Open 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Tuesday-Friday, except holidays
TTY Equipment Users Only Call 1-800-286-6613 (toll-free
within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-984-7300
(anywhere) to ask questions or to order forms and publications.
Visit the New Jersey Division
of Taxation Home Page
Many State tax forms and publications
are available on our website.
NJ Tax E-News,
The Division of Taxation's online information service.
Visit a New Jersey Division
of Taxation Regional Office
Regional offices provide individual
assistance at various locations throughout the State.
Call the Automated Tax Information System or visit our
website for the address of the regional office nearest
The New Jersey Taxpayers' Bill of Rights
simplifies tax administration and ensures that all taxpayers
-- individuals and businesses alike -- are better informed
and receive fair and equitable treatment during the tax collection
process. Highlights of the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights include:
must respond to taxpayers' questions within a reasonable
of taxes and penalties due must clearly identify the
purpose of the notice and must contain information about
to appeal to the Tax Court is generally 90 days.
Interest on Refunds --
is paid at the prime rate on refunds for all taxes when
the Division takes more than six months to send you
- You may
request that your overpayment of this year's tax be
credited towards next year's tax liability, however,
interest will not be paid on overpayments that are credited
For more information on the rights and obligations
of both taxpayers and the Division of Taxation under the
Taxpayers' Bill of Rights, request our publication ANJ-1, New Jersey Taxpayers' Bill of Rights.
Generally, your New Jersey income tax return
is due when your Federal income tax return is due. For calendar
year filers, the 2017 New Jersey income tax return is due
by April 17, 2018.
All New Jersey income tax returns postmarked
on or before the due date of the return are considered
to be filed on time. For the purposes of NJ WebFile, the
date on which the information is successfully transmitted
to the Division and confirmation is received will serve
as the postmark date. Tax returns postmarked after the
due date are considered to be filed late. When a return
is postmarked after the due date, the filing date for
that return is the date the return was received by the
Division, not the postmark date of the return. Interest
on unpaid liabilities is assessed from the due date of
Any person who deliberately fails to
file a return, files a fraudulent return, or attempts
to evade the tax in any manner may be liable for a penalty
up to $7,500 or imprisonment for a term between three
and five years or both.
Federal/State Tax Agreement
The New Jersey Division of Taxation
and the Internal Revenue Service have entered into a Federal/State
Agreement to exchange income tax information in order
to verify the accuracy and consistency of information
reported on Federal and New Jersey income tax returns.
Keeping Tax Records
Keep copies of your tax returns and
the supporting documentation of income, age and/or disability, deductions and
credits until the statute of limitations has expired for
each return. Generally this is three years after the filing
date or two years from the date the tax was paid, whichever
Privacy Act Notification
The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires
an agency requesting information from individuals to inform
them why the request is being made and how the information
is being used.
Your social security number is used
primarily to account for and give credit for tax payments.
The Division of Taxation also uses social security numbers
in the administration and enforcement of all tax laws
for which it is responsible. In addition, the Division
of Taxation is required by law to forward an annual list
to the Administrative Office of the Courts containing
the names, addresses and social security numbers of individuals
who file a New Jersey resident tax return or Homestead benefit
application. This list will be used to avoid duplication
of names on jury lists.
your federal income tax return and other states' tax returns
(if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to another
jurisdiction) before you begin to WebFile your New Jersey
- All dollar
amounts must be entered as whole dollars. You must round
all money amounts. Eliminate any amount under 50 cents
and increase any amount 50 cents or more to the next higher
- Use only
the provided buttons and links on each screen to proceed
through WebFile. Next to certain line items there will
be a link that will bring you to the corresponding schedule
or worksheet, where you can enter the necessary information.
- There is
a "Calculate" button at the bottom of each section that
will allow you to preview your totals as you proceed through
the return. It is not necessary
to click the "Calculate" button prior to submitting the
return. The amounts will automatically be calculated upon
submission of the completed NJ-1040 .
- The "Continue"
button will bring you to the Validation Screen, which
will allow you to verify your information and either return
to the NJ-1040 screen to Edit, or to Submit your return.
- If you
are not ready to submit your return a Save/Exit button
is provided on each screen for your convenience. A saved
return will be available for the entire filing season.
- Not everyone
can use NJ WebFile.
- This web site is best
viewed in Internet Explorer. If you are using Internet Explorer 10 or higher, please turn compatibility view ON.
- Do not
use the navigation buttons on your browser's toolbar.
If you select the BACK or FORWARD buttons your information
may not be saved and you may have to fill out the appropriate
form(s) again. Instead select one of the navigation buttons
at the bottom of each section to navigate through NJ WebFile.
- If your
computer is idle for 15 minutes or more, your session
will "time-out" and you will lose all of your
information. Please keep this in mind.
- Each screen
has a HELP button. Clicking the HELP button on a specific
screen will take you to the help documentation relating
to that screen. Remember to check the Division's website
for publications and technical bulletins if you need more
- To change
information that you entered on any of the schedules or
worksheets, click the worksheet link again for that income
item or by clicking the EDIT button at the end of the
Validation screen. The schedule or worksheet will open
and you can change whatever you need to.
NOTE: NJ WebFile may only be used to file
your original 2017 full-year New Jersey Resident Income Tax
return. You cannot use NJ WebFile to file a nonresident, part-year resident or amended income tax return.